Take down request from Canadian Cyber Incident Response Centre (CCIRC)

Ca. 459 ord.

From: CYBERDO <CyberDO@ps-sp.gc.ca>
To: "'certbund@bsi.bund.de'" <certbund@bsi.bund.de>
Date: Mon, 21 Dec 2009 09:34:37 -0500
Subject: CCIRC CE09-2616 [Deactivation Request]

Hash: SHA1


  The Canadian Cyber Incident Response Centre (CCIRC) is
your assistance in a matter concerning the Government of Canada.

  Below is a request, from The Office of Intellectual Property,
Environment Canada, requesting the deactivation of two websites that
are impersonating Environment Canada/Government of Canada.

There are 2 domains of concern, specifically:



Both of these sites are hosted on IP - AS8972 using
Serverloft hosting services.

  The hosting provider has not removed the pages, as requested.
Therefore, CCIRC is requesting your assistance in having these sites

Please advise if you can assist.

Thanks very much,

Note: Original request from Environment Canada Intellectual Property
Office below.

Bruce Moore
Cyber Duty Officer
Public Safety Canada
Canadian Cyber Incident Response Centre (CCIRC)


Subject:  Infringement of Environment Canada trademarks, copyright
and phishing of the official ec.gc.ca website

To whom it may concern:

I am writing on behalf of the Minister of Environment to demand that
you promptly delete and remove the website "enviro-canada.ca" and
"ec-gc.ca" which have been confirmed to be currently hosted on your
servers. We make this demand because this website infringes
Environment Canada's Intellectual Property and acts as a phishing
site to the official Departmental website.

By way of background, this website is directly connected to a hoax
which misleads people into believing that the Government of Canada
will take certain actions in relation to environmental matters. In
addition to containing false statements, the websites contain links
to other false statements, all as part of the hoax. While it is
evident to the Department of the Environment that this website was
created as part of the hoax, the same will not be evident to most
users of this infringing and false website.

We trust you appreciate the importance of avoiding confusion among
the public concerning Canadian governmental affairs and that you
will assist us in preventing this hoax from spreading further. In
addition, we ask that you make every effort to prevent any further
attempts concerning other environment-related domains (enviro,
ec-gc, etc.) originating from your servers.

Please confirm at your earliest convenience your deletion and
removal of these websites.

Should you have any questions regarding this issue, please feel
free to contact me anytime.

We thank you for your attention to this matter.

Mike Landreville
Conseiller, Bureau de la propriété intellectuelle / Manager,
Intellectual Property Office Environnement Canada / Environment
Canada 1040 boulevard St-Joseph / 1040 St. Joseph Blvd.
Gatineau (Quebec) K1A 0H3
Téléphone | Telephone   819-997-2962
Télécopieur | Facsimile  819-953-5004

Version: PGP 8.1


Sidst ændret Sat Jan 2 15:07:44 2010